• Please remember to wrap not safe for work text/images in [NSFW][/NSFW] tags.
    Example: [NSFW][img]http://darklygaming.com/images/spinnysgapedass.jpg[/img][/NSFW]

Game Handles - Where'd yours come from?

Thanatos

TD Member
Did you ever wonder where someone got their game handle from? I get asked all the time if mine is from x game or y book though the answer is much simpler, I took it straight from Greek mythology.

I've been using Thanatos for almost 20 years (fuck I'm old) starting in grade 9 where during lunch hour a bunch of us went to the computer lab to play Descent II (we were super cool). At the time we were doing a class on Greek mythology and being the bad ass I was I chose the handle Thanatos which is the greek personification of death.

What's your story? How did you come up with your gamer name?

Cmp™

Retired Scrub
Mine is shortened from my old Minecraft username, cmptrzd1592.
The story behind THAT name is a little more interesting.
I used to play Halo 2 a lot with my older cousin, who used the name Spclzd244. The Spclzd is the word specialized with the vowels taken out,
s p e c i a l i z e d.
As I was just getting into IT at that time, I decided to use the same kinda thing, but with computerized.
c o m p u t e r i z e d
cmptrzd
As for the 1592, it's not quite as fancy.
I was born on the 15th day of a month in 1992.
cmptrzd + 1592 = cmptrzd1592

tl;dr I overcomplicated shit, then uncomplicated it.

Cmp™

Retired Scrub
:yaoming: she has standards. Also, holy shit fastest thread derailment ever.

apply-cold-water-to-the-burned-area.jpg

Reactions: nb

zackychuu

TD Admin / Wanker

I always thought it was because you were a fan of CM Punk...

I've already told this story but sure for the purpose of this thread.
There was a girl called Laura (Lauz for short) I used to sit across from in my Science class when I was around 11/12ish. I had known her for quite some time and she was a pretty good friend.